The Way To A Girl’s Heart Is Through The Packaging

Every month, I patiently await the arrival of the next Birchbox box. The anticipation of what samples I will receive is what makes me swoon. Admittedly, I am obsessed with the beauty industry. Finding out about the latest beauty trends, products and colors is what feeds my anticipation. But what about the packaging of the products? I’ve thought about this for some time, and realized that the way a product is presented to the world affects our perception of how “good” or “bad” the product may be.

My Birchbox box arrives, and it is absolutely gorgeous. It is covered in a beautiful cluster flower pattern, with the word BIRCHBOX written in its center, enveloped in a shiny gold rectangle. I open the box to find luxury samples of the most recent beauty products in the industry. But I always find myself going back to the packaging. I will admit that I collect the Birchbox boxes after I have emptied their contents. I have them all stacked in my bedroom, and admire their lovely packaging from time to time. It adds a subtle beauty to the decor in my bedroom, which brought me to question this idea: does packaging mean more than the product itself?

In my world, the answer is “yes”. We as humans are drawn to beautiful, colorful, shiny things. It’s simply the honest truth. I’ve also considered the fact that the public relations concepts used by Birchbox are insanely well-done. One might consider that without the packaging, the products may not be as appealing. And with that, I applaud this beauty bombshell of a company!

Anywho, my midnight snack awaits me!

Toodles. – P

 

Leave a Reply

